Security Cadets Forums: Neospace Internet Security - Another Rogue! - Security Cadets Forums

Jump to content

Join to gain 'free' computer support.

Welcome. We're here to help you in cleaning your computer, securing your computer and any other computer troubles with our 'free' expertise. In order to receive help you have to join to be able to post in the forums below, which requires a registration - Click here to Register a free account!


| Get help with Malware Removal | Get help with SCars (Beta) | Get help with Microsoft Windows® | Get help with Hardware | Get help with Security Software |

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Neospace Internet Security - Another Rogue!

#1 User is online   AndyAtHull 

  • Malware Ninja
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,705
  • Joined: 10-May 06
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Malware Busting

Posted 03 March 2007 - 09:26 PM

… and not just ANY rogue, no! One that gets upto all kind of wrongness as this application installs through exploits. This time not from ESTDOMAINS.

Fun, Fun, FUN I hear you say? Well, no, a pain to be honest. One of the pain is that is looks like Lavasoft’s Ad-Aware. Surely a copyright issue?

Posted Image

First discovered by nosirrah, Marcin Kleczynski had a thing or two to say:

“So I decided to run a quick scan. Immediately after clicking the Scan button, hundreds of threats popped up, which I knew were false positives because this is a clean install of Windows Vista Home Premium edition.”

…..OOPS and damn right nasty! The whois is a load of ramble aswell:

Registrant:
Richard Fowler
37 Store Street
Apt. 500
London, Bloomsbury WC1E 7QF
United Kingdom

Registered through: Domains Priced Right
Domain Name: NEOSPACELAB.COM
Created on: 10-Jan-07
Expires on: 10-Jan-08
Last Updated on:

Administrative Contact:
Fowler, Richard
37 Store Street
Apt. 500
London, Bloomsbury WC1E 7QF
United Kingdom
+44.2084369201

Technical Contact:
Fowler, Richard
37 Store Street
Apt. 500
London, Bloomsbury WC1E 7QF
United Kingdom
+44.2084369201

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.VIVAHOSTER.COM
NS2.VIVAHOSTER.COM

With the e-mail address being fake! Not only that the IP is also known to be related to porcosnet.com. A well known site which is in the mvp hosts file that also uses exploits!

Avoid this one. However IF you have been exploited and have Neospace, then pop into our HijackThis & Removal forum for free help in removing it and a general check over

Visit the original article with links on our blog.
Andrew Kleijn
Securitycadets' CEO

Follow me on: Twitter | Follow Securitycadets' on: Twitter | Become a fan on: Facebook | Click here to get SCars

Posted Image

If you had help and/or wish to support this site - Donate here

Disclaimer: The opinions I post are my own and don't reflect the police force I am in.
0


SCars - Your reminding system


#2 User is online   AndyAtHull 

  • Malware Ninja
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,705
  • Joined: 10-May 06
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Malware Busting

Posted 03 March 2007 - 09:36 PM

Digg it here: http://digg.com/security/Neospace_Internet..._Another_Rogue/ - Spread the word.
Andrew Kleijn
Securitycadets' CEO

Follow me on: Twitter | Follow Securitycadets' on: Twitter | Become a fan on: Facebook | Click here to get SCars

Posted Image

If you had help and/or wish to support this site - Donate here

Disclaimer: The opinions I post are my own and don't reflect the police force I am in.
0

#3 User is online   AndyAtHull 

  • Malware Ninja
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,705
  • Joined: 10-May 06
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Malware Busting

Posted 04 March 2007 - 07:38 PM

Vote over at Faill.com; http://www.faill.com/story.php?title=Neosp...y-Another-Rogue
Andrew Kleijn
Securitycadets' CEO

Follow me on: Twitter | Follow Securitycadets' on: Twitter | Become a fan on: Facebook | Click here to get SCars

Posted Image

If you had help and/or wish to support this site - Donate here

Disclaimer: The opinions I post are my own and don't reflect the police force I am in.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


SCars - Your reminding system

Home | About | SCars | SCars Support | ASAP Member | Contact Us | PC & Software Help | Donate | Downloads | Support Forums
F1 Fantasy Challenge 2010 | Malware Removal | NewsBot Centre | Rules and Guidlines | Privacy Policy